abe simpson

Once you graduate college, you begin to realize changes in life that make you feel old. This sort of thing gets worse with age and at a certain point, something happens and you realize that you no longer feel old, you just are old. Well, today, I think I hit that moment.

Google reader is scheduled to be sunset on July 1st. Google Reader is the RSS feed aggregator of choice for many, including myself, and its probably the most significant RSS feed aggregator still out there. RSS feed aggregators help users take information from various sites and bring them all into one feed so that users can very quickly browse through headlines and focus on the articles that grab their attention. In my Google Reader, I’ve got feeds from the Economist, TechCrunch, Wired, Business Insider, Deadspin, Search Engine Land, Dinosaur Comics, and more. It really helps me stay up on current events in the categories that I care about.

The death of Google Reader will likely usher in cries of “RSS is dead!” and those who believe this are probably right. RSS has been going the way of the dinosaur for a while now, so this isn’t particularly shocking news. The reason that it makes me realize that I am old is not because I love RSS so much; I feel old because I have no clue what I’m supposed to replace it with. When compact discs died off, I was fine because I was already aboard the MP3 train. The only folks who felt lost are the same people buying “Now That’s What I Call Music: Volume 142” from their televisions. With RSS dying, I feel like I’m losing something incredibly functional to me with no idea of how I’m supposed to continue efficiently consuming my news!

So, my question to everyone else is, what have you done to fill the RSS hole in your life? How do you stay up to date on what’s going on without visiting dozens of different sites? What’s the next big thing that I clearly missed out on? Help this old codger out; I’m clearly no longer with it anymore and it’s weird and scary to me.

[TechCrunch]

